214: You

214: You

I think of you everyday whenever I have a spare moment – a brief reverie in physics class, a dream at night, in a theatrical poster, everywhere…lately it’s been consuming me even though I don’t have time to think about you.

I think of where you are now, wherever it could be – at the boys’ school a few blocks away, in a different city, in a different state. Have you already decided what you want to study at university? Have you already decided what kind of career you’d like to pursue now? Have you thought about me, the significant other you haven’t met?

Even though I haven’t met you yet, I think of you everyday. I wonder what it would feel like to run my fingers through your hair. I wonder what it would feel like to be able to peer into your soul and smile. I wonder what it would feel like to embrace you. I wonder what it would be like studying together in tutorials, lectures, the dental clinic. I wonder what I’d feel practising basic cleaning procedures on your possibly perfect porcelain teeth. Do you wear glasses? I’m not so sure. Do you love the sciences, mathematics, romantic literature? I don’t know. I can’t wait to find out the answer, though.

Most of all, I think about who you could be. Do I know you already? Have we met before? When did you start to have a passion for dentistry? Do you plan on going rural at some point in your life? Are you a romantic at heart? Will we spend a lot of time together? Do you want to spend a lot of time together with me? Will we move in together after university ends?

To my future significant other, I am somewhat secretly hoping that you are pursuing a dental career with the same passion, same ferocity. I secretly hope that you are the perfect man with lovable flaws. I secretly hope for many things. I think of you everyday, even though we may not have met yet and the human brain is incapable of constructing faces it has not seen before.

It’s too early to say, but I can’t wait to see you. I can’t wait to meet you at dental school, if I get in, that is.

 

~ Serendipitous

Leave a Reply

