311: The Passage of Time

311: The Passage of Time

The passage of time? Unforgiving, merciless, one-directional. It is the never-ending current in only a forward motion. We are immediately pulled in by the current the moment we are born. Perhaps even beyond birth, the passage of time only began (as far as we know, scientifically) with the Big Bang. And so since then everything that has a birth and a death has been caught in the current. But our sense of time doesn’t coordinate with this stream. I know this because I am living in the second half of 2016, but I still feel like I am trapped in 2013 listening to music from 2012 and 2015. Why those years? I don’t know. Recently, I’ve been trapped in 2013. Trapped in May or June, maybe even July, but not August or September. I always thought I’d stay sixteen, but it turns out my mind refuses to believe that, and decides for me that I am still fourteen. Still vulnerable, unlucky in love, unlucky in friendship, unlucky in life, although everything that has been happening around me really says otherwise.

The passage of time never stops for anyone. The sun rises, the sun sets, accidents happen, people die, and life goes on. Time goes on, because no one really stops to try and go back in time anymore. Maybe except if you’re extremely nostalgic, then you go places only you can go in your head. Some people might become nostalgic enough to be obsessed with the creation of a time machine. Some memories can only be replayed so much before they begin to lose their original shine and the heart wishes to replicate the same feelings once again…

So I guess just make the most of what you have. The time you’re given is limited, no matter what anybody says. Seize the moment, you could say.

 

~ Serendipitous

Leave a Reply

