330: The Simplest of Heartbreak

330: The Simplest of Heartbreak

“I waited for you, but you never came back.”

This morning, I was in a lot of pain. All my nerve endings were on fire. The carpet of my tongue stuck to the roof of my mouth. The peanut butter toast I usually have for breakfast tasted bland and dry. Sadness washed over me, for crunchy peanut butter is supposed to be rich with the nutty flavour that wakes my brain. Our hearts were broken, but it would mend. Eventually. But that’s not what was on my mind this morning when I was taking the bus to school. What am I doing with my life? I stopped breaking hearts the moment I met him. But I suppose my dark side is always finding ways to invite trouble into my life. Even in the haze of sleep, I understood that something terrible had happened, but maybe it was because I had overdramatised it. I guess I did.

I fell asleep without saying goodnight.

 

~ Serendipitous

I’m so sorry honey. We’ll go to sleep earlier tonight, I promise.

Okay.

Leave a Reply

