375: Collateral Beauty

375: Collateral Beauty

A couple of days ago I went to see this film with my honey. Yes, it has an ensemble cast, but I was left feeling confused afterwards. The story is somewhat fragmented, I didn’t know what was going on half of the time and I misinterpreted a lot of the story. The idea of “collateral beauty” interested me because it is probably something that airy-fairy romantic me would have written about, but I know I was annoying my honey with numerous questions about its ambiguity and all the things I had either missed or not understood.

It is 12% on Rotten Tomatoes. You may decide to watch it if you want to, but be warned, you will probably be left with more questions than answers. A quick read of a Wikipedia plot summary told me most of the answers to my questions, actually. Some of the stuff in the plot summary I don’t actually agree with (apparently Will Smith’s best friend’s daughter is a teenager, but she looked like she was a sophisticated ten year old girl? I don’t know the character’s names other than Kate Winslet’s Claire and Keira Knightley’s Amy, because I never pay attention to the character’s names if there is an ensemble cast present). Yes. Oh. I don’t know. It was confusingly beautiful and ambiguously poignant.

TL;DR: Touching, but ambiguous.

 

~ Serendipitous

Epic side note: 103 days until 18th birthday!

Leave a Reply

